Skip the NI Direct Bar

Download Adobe Reader

Poor law unions

Northern Ireland landscape Map from the PRONI archives A local mill and water wheel
Poor Law Unions (or Superintendant Registrar's Districts) were the areas of administration for poor relief established under the Poor Relief (Ireland) Act, 1838.  Because these areas centered on large market towns to a radius of approximately 10 miles, they often tended to cross county boundaries.  They became Superintendant Registrars' Districts at the end of the 19th Century.

Alphabetical List of Poor Law Unions

  • Armagh (County Armagh)
  • Ballycastle (County Antrim)
  • Ballymena (County Antrim)
  • Ballymoney (County Antrim)
  • Ballyshannon (Counties Fermanagh, Donegal and Leitrim)
  • Banbridge (County Armagh and Down)
  • Belfast (Counties Antrim and Down)
  • Castleblayney (Counties Armagh and Monaghan)
  • Castlederg (County Tyrone)
  • Clogher (County Tyrone)
  • Clones (Counties Fermanagh and Monaghan)
  • Coleraine (County Londonderry)
  • Cookstown (County Tyrone)
  • Downpatrick (County Down)
  • Dungannon (County Tyrone)
  • Enniskillen (Counties Fermanagh and Cavan)
  • Irvinestown (Counties Fermanagh and Tyrone)
  • Kilkeel (County Down)
  • Larne (County Antrim)
  • Limavady (County Londonderry)
  • Lisburn (Counties Antrim and Down)
  • Lisnaskea (County Fermanagh)
  • Londonderry (Counties Londonderry and Donegal)
  • Lurgan (Counties Antrim, Armagh and Down)
  • Magherafelt (County Londonderry)
  • Newry (Counties Armagh and Down)
  • Newtownards (County Down)
  • Omagh (County Tyrone)
  • Strabane (Counties Tyrone and Donegal)

Further Information