Skip the NI Direct Bar

Download Adobe Reader

Geographical index

Northern Ireland landscape Map from the PRONI archives A local mill and water wheel
This index provides a helpful guide to understanding and identifying historical civil and ecclesiastical territories within the six counties of Northern Ireland (shown below).  For further information on geographical divisions within Northern Ireland and their historical context, see areas, regions and land divisions.  
Use the right hand menu to locate, for example, townlands within parishes and counties, parishes in each county and Dioceses, Baronies or Poor Law Unions within Northern Ireland.
Northern Ireland is divided into six counties:
Province map